Near Death Experience (Narrative Sample)

Whenever someone asks my parents to tell of something interesting about me, my mom, without fail will tell about this incident where I nearly died.

Weekends at home were always fun with mom and dad around the house. I think about my eight-year-old self playing around the house; looking for some interesting adventure to fill my time. I was never the studious type. Mom would usually be found furiously sweeping, mopping, ironing, or occasionally just sitting down quietly with a book. Dad being Mr. Fix-it would be somewhere fiddling with something around the house. Hearing some rumbling and clanging going on above me in the attic, my adventurous little self desperately wanted to see what dad was up to. Leaning against the wall leading to the opening of the attic, the ladder was enticing me to climb it.

Just as I set foot on the third step, my mom stopped dead in her tracks and sternly told me to get off it for fear that I will fall to my death. I thought she was really exaggerating as one can’t possibly die if they fell from such a low height. “Aiya, won’t die one la”, I replied in my colorful Malaysian Cantonese accent while continuing up the ladder. Right after those words came out of my mouth, I crashed down through the asbestos ceiling into my room. The first miss-step I took was on the asbestos sheet instead of the wooden beam, and being a heavy-boned child, I slammed myself nicely on my bed. For some divine reason, we moved the furniture around in my room about a month ago, and it was right there to break my fall, else I would have broken my neck or worse!

I have scars on my elbows to remind me of my foolishness. Since then, besides always being thankful for protection from above, I must always remember that there are consequences to disobedience, whether it comes immediately or you can anticipate it to come back in future to bite you in the backside.

Leave a comment