Culinary Mishap (Narrative Sample)

Last Thanksgiving, I nearly poisoned my friends and family in my flat. My family was visiting me in Beijing, so I invited a couple of friends over to have a nice thanksgiving meal. Turkey is usually served for thanksgiving, but turkey is very expensive in Beijing, so I decided to get duck instead. I obviously didn’t know how to cook duck, but I wanted to show off and impress my friends with my cooking skills. I enthusiastically bought a raw duck from the Jinwuxing market, looked up some recipes on cooking.com and hoped for the best.

By the time 5.30pm rolled around, I was still struggling with the marinating the duck with spices and sauces. Needless to say, the duck was still cooking in the oven when my guests arrived at 7pm. Nevertheless, the smell of the duck roasting in the oven was so good, and I was very pleased with myself for being able to cook such a wonderful dish. With a big smile on my face, I took out the duck and served the glazed skinned dish on the table.

Right when my friend Jane took the first bite, she exclaimed that it was under cooked and too salty! I was so upset I didn’t know where to hide my face. I ran into my room and burst into tears. My parents came in to console me and we ordered a Hawaiian pizza instead. Next time, I will remember to experiment with a dish before inviting people over. Next time, I will remember to be humble.

Leave a comment