Discover the World, Discover Yourself

Musings from 2014. Still relevant today!

Traveling quite a bit this past year has made me learn something new about traveling.

Every travel adventure brings new opportunities to learn something new and interesting. About the place, the people, the food, the culture. About others, about yourself.

Some discoveries can be fun, exciting, colorful and awe-inspiring. Some can make you contemplative or thoughtful. Others frustrating, annoying or even sobering.

Its always fun to travel with a buddy. Someone you know well, whose company you enjoy. If you want to test the limits of your friendship, try traveling together. You may very well discover that you want to pull your hair out (or perhaps the other person’s hair) after spending massive volumes of time with each other through rubbing each other the wrong way. Friction can be caused by many uncontrollable factors like being in a foreign land, where you don’t know your way around, or not being able to communicate what you want to the locals, or more commonly miscommunication with your travel buddy! And then

I have learnt so much about others I’ve traveled with, but most importantly, I’ve learnt much more about myself through traveling. I can be impatient, annoying, inconsiderate, even monstrous! Travel has taught me to be a tiny bit more patient, to try to understand others better; although I don’t always understand. And if I don’t, just to shut up and go with the flow.

Leave a comment